Skip to main content

SETU partners with WLCSP and Purple Flag Steering Committee to secure vital funding for Consent Matters

South East Technological University (SETU) welcomes the announcement that €150,000 in funding has been allocated to Waterford Local Community Safety Partnership (WLCSP) for a new collaborative project, Consent Matters. 

Speaking following the announcement, Dr Allison Kenneally, Vice President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) at SETU said, “The EDI office is delighted to partner with WLCSP and the Purple Flag Steering Committee for this important project. Consent Matters takes a collaborative, research led approach to increasing awareness and providing education to tackle sexual violence and harassment across our local communities, and to creating safer spaces for us all.” 

Making the announcement, Minister for Justice Helen McEntee, T.D. stated: “I’ve said consistently that the people who are best placed to know and respond to local safety issues are communities themselves. It’s vital that we empower our communities to proactively address safety concerns, and in the process build stronger, safer communities.” 

Collaborative approach

The Consent Matters project is supported by the statutory and community partners which will raise awareness and educate key community groups across Waterford County to create a safe, respectful, positive, and supportive culture in the community. 

WLCSP Chair, Sean Aylward wished to thank the Minister for responding to issues of community safety and sexual assault “identified as priority issues from within our own communities during working group meetings. The innovative Consent Matters project will ensure that the issues are tackled collaboratively, in the heart of our local communities”. 

Commenting on the nature of the projects, WLCSP Coordinator Eddie Mulligan said, “Consent Matters is an innovative collaborative approach to tackling sexual violence and harassment involving educational, statutory and community groups throughout the city and county.”