Skip to main content

The Head of Library and Information Services at SETU’s Waterford Campus has been selected as an expert on the stakeholder representatives panel for the EU-funded Horizon project LibrarIN.

Terry O Brien

Terry O'Brien, joins the panel, comprising of 25 experts and leaders from across EU, UK and EEA libraries including university, public, special, and national libraries and library organisations, such as LIBER, the Association of European Research Libraries. 

The panel will support and shape the project by providing inputs and feedback about experiences of value co-creation, and will be engaged in the co-production of ideas, approaches, and policy recommendations for the project.  

The project will explore new avenues for public value co-creation and a demand-driven design of public library services for European libraries. It will examine ways that libraries can develop new functions, apply new technologies, create novel services, and engage with the public that they serve. 

LibrarIN is a Horizon Europe project that provides new avenues for participatory management and sustainable finance for European libraries as key cultural institutions. 

It will examine ways that libraries can develop new functions, services, and engagement with the individuals, organisations, and communities they serve. This requires social innovation based on public value co-creation and a demand-driven design of library services.   

One of the key goals of the project is to give libraries the tools to "re-position" themselves at the core of cultural and socioeconomic activity in the neighbourhoods, cities, and regions where they operate. 

The LibrarIN Project is the result of a collaboration between 10 partners from nine European countries and will last until October 2025.  

For more information, please refer to The partners, led by LIBER include Athens Technology Center, The Lisbon Council, University of Alcalà, Roskilde University, University of Lille, University of Konstanz, Maastricht University, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, and AIT Austrian Institute of Technology.