Skip to main content

The winners of this year's Marketing Student of the Year Awards were announced during a recent event at Waterford city's Granville Hotel.

The awards recognise the academic and overall contribution that soon-to-be graduates of SETU's marketing programmes have accomplished during their four year degree. The ceremony is a celebration to mark the end of the students' undergraduate studies, as they sit their last examination on the morning of the awards.


The overall winners of Student of the Year were Aileen Quigley (BA (Hons) in Marketing & Digital Media) and Sharran Kafamveka (Bachelor of Business (Hons) – Marketing specialisation).

Aileen Quigley and Sharran Kafamveka each spoke after accepting their awards, paying tribute to family, friends, fellow students and their Marketing lecturers at SETU's Cork Road Campus in Waterford for their help and support during their studies.

"SETU is very proud of the achievements of our students and we wish them the best of luck in their future careers."

Dr Patricia Bowe Head of Department of Management and Organisation

Granville Hotel support

The Cusack family, proprietors of the Granville Hotel have been sponsoring these awards for the past 32 years. At the ceremony, Jackie Cusack said, "the Granville Hotel is delighted to be associated with the leaders in Marketing in the south east. We have a long-standing relationship with SETU in supporting marketing and business events over the years. A huge thank you to all involved. We would like to congratulate the award recipients, and all the SETU students and lecturers.”

In her address to the students Doctor Patricia Bowe, Head of Department of Management & Organisation SETU, said, "The School of Business is delighted that the Cusack family have been involved in hosting these awards. Their support has been crucial to our marketing graduates over the years and we hope that this relationship will continue in the future. SETU is very proud of the achievements of our students and we wish them the best of luck in their future careers."

Commendation awards

In addition to the overall winners, Marketing Commendations were awarded to recognise outstanding academic achievement within their respective programmes.

BA (Hons) in Marketing & Digital Media commendation award winners

  • Aisling Duffy
  • Orla Hayes
  • Tom Holden
  • Gavin Moran
  • Tara McCabe

BBS (Hons) - Marketing specialisation commendation award winners

  • Sophie Connolly
  • Louis Humphries
  • Sean McInerney
  • Amanda Morris
  • Nicole Tierney

Image gallery