home / governing-body / governing-body-members

The Governing Body of SETU has been established in accordance with the provisions of the Technological Universities Act 2018 (TU Act 2018) and its functions are as identified in the Act. Membership will be expanded in accordance with the TU Act 2018.

Governing body members

  • Professor Patrick Prendergast - Chairperson
  • Professor Veronica Campbell - President
  • Ms Ruth Beadle - External Minister Appointment
  • Mr Jim Bergin - External Minister Appointment
  • Mr Kevin Lewis - ETB Appointment
  • Mr Patrick Curtin - President SETUSU Waterford
  • Mr Mark Dunne - President SETUSU Carlow
  • Ms Sarah Clarke - Elected Professional, Management & Support staff
  • Mr Claus Derenda – Elected Academic staff
  • Dr Kathleen Moore Walsh – Elected Academic staff
  • Dr David Dempsey - External Nominee 
  • Ms Louise Grubb - External Nominee
  • Professor Marie-Christine Ho Ba Tho - External Nominee
  • Mr Richard Lacey - Elected Academic staff
  • Ms Pauline Oakes - External Nominee
  • Mr Ray Ryan - Elected All Staff  

South East Technological University (SETU) was established by Ministerial Order under Section 36 of the Technological Universities Act 2018 (“TU Act”), (Number 3 of 2018), on the appointed day of 1 May 2022. SETU is Ireland’s fifth Technological University and has a Governing Body, which is the authority established by law to govern the Technological University. The membership of the Governing Body is outlined in the relevant legislation and the Governing Body operates in accordance with the functions set out in legislation.

SETU Statutory Instrument 2022

Technological Universities Act 2018

The Governing Body of South East Technological University (SETU) carries out business in accordance with the following:

SETU Code of Governance (Interim)

SETU Code of Conduct for Governing Body Members

SETU Governing Body Standing Orders