

MINUTES

Meeting : SETU Academic Council

Meeting Number : 2

Date : 7th June 2022 Duration : 10.15am – 11.30am

Attendees : Dr. Derek O'Byrne (Chairperson), Mr. David Denieffe (Secretary),

Dr. Brian Casey, Dr. Greg Doyle, Dr. Colette Moloney, Dr. David Scanlon, Mr. Larry Banville, Mr. Patrick Morgan,

Dr. Hazel Farrell, Dr. Tom O'Toole, Dr. Laura Keane, Mr. John Tully,

Dr. Padraig Kirwan, Dr. Sharon Harris Byrne, Dr. Ken Thomas, Dr. Suzanne Denieffe, Ms. Victoria McDonagh, Dr. Chris Meudec, Dr. Geraldine Cleere, Dr. Corinne Power-O'Mahony, Dr Declan Doyle,

Dr. Anne Graham, Dr. Mark White, Dr. Janette Davies, Mr. Liam O'Shea, Ms. Maura Bolger, Mr. Ken McCarthy,

Mr Pascal Harte, Mr. Kevin Doolin,

Dr. Cara Daly, Dr. Cathal Nolan, Dr. Frances Hardiman, Dr. Eileen Doyle, Dr. Karen Hennessy, Ms. Mary Lyng

Dr. Louise Bennett, Dr. Orla O'Donovan, Dr. Helen Murphy, Mr. Mark Dunne

In Attendance : Dr. Paul O'Leary Secretariat : Ms. Margaret Maher

Apologies : Dr. Zeta Dooly, Prof. John Wells, Mr. Aubrey Storey,

Dr. Dina Brazil, Dr. David Dowling, Dr. David Allen Ms. Claire Fitzpatrick, Mr. John Maher, Dr. Carmel Smith, Ms. Maebh Maher, Dr. Rosemary O'Hara, Ms. Una Grant,

As discussed at the previous meeting of Academic Council, Dr. Derek O'Byrne will act as Chairperson for this meeting and Mr. David Denieffe will act as Secretary. Dr. O'Byrne welcomed all to the meeting.

1. Minutes of Academic Council Meeting 17th May 2022

NOTED: Clarification was sought on whether it was agreed that any items for A.O.B should be notified prior to the meeting or at the start of the meeting, it was confirmed that it should be notified prior to the meeting.

AGREED: On proposition of O'O'Donovan seconded by P. Kirwan the minutes of the Academic Council meeting of 17th May 2022 were approved by Council

2. Matters Arising

NOTED: In relation to the Leaving Certificate Results, D. O'Byrne advised members that the State Examinations Commission (SEC) is not yet in a position to announce the date the leaving certificate results will be issued. It is hoped the date will be announced before our next meeting on 20th June where we can discuss further.

3. Academic and Academic Administration Change Process

NOTED: D. Denieffe advised members that there are currently four Integration Leads in place as follows:

- Dr. Gina Noonan Teaching & Learning
- Dr. Chris O'Riordan Academic, Legal and Compliance
- Ms. Anne-Marie Frampton Academic Administration
- Ms. Rosemary Flynn Student Support

NOTED: D. Denieffe noted the ongoing work in these areas and suggested each of the Integration Leads be invited to the next meeting of Academic Council to give a presentation on the ongoing work in each of their areas.

4. Policies for Approval – South East Technological University Quality Framework

NOTED: Document "South East Technological University Quality Framework" was circulated to all members prior to this meeting.

NOTED: Dr. Paul O'Leary, Head of Quality Promotion and Academic Policy Development, Waterford Campus, joined the meeting to present this document which was produced by Work Group 3, co-chaired by both Dr. O'Leary and Dr. Siobhan Ryan, Carlow Campus. The Quality Framework is intended to guide the university in the establishment of excellent Quality Assurance and Quality Enhancement systems and draws on the Standards and Guidelines for Quality Assurance in the European Higher Education Area (ESG) and the Technological Higher Education Quality Framework (THEQF). This document provides an overarching Quality Framework which will guide us in drawing up the Quality Manual **NOTED:** D. Denieffe welcomed the work done so far and advised members that this is a "live" document.

NOTED: Members suggested the terminology used in relation to research on page 27 needs to be amended.

AGREED: On proposition of D. Scanlon seconded by D. Doyle the South East Technological University Quality Framework was approved by Council.

NOTED: D. Denieffe thanked Paul O'Leary, Dr. Siobhan Ryan and all the team for their work on this document. P. O'Leary left the meeting.

5. Committee Structure and Terms of Reference

NOTED: Document "*Proposed Terms of Reference for SETU Academic Council Committees*" was circulated to all members prior to this meeting. D. Denieffe thanked Dr. Chris O'Riordan for his work on these. He also thanked all those who have indicated their preference for committee membership and encouraged those who have yet to select to do so.

AGREED: Academic Quality and Regulations Committee to meet as soon as possible to consider any items received since designation day. D. Denieffe and D.O'Byrne to chair the initial meeting of each of the Committees.

NOTED: Terms of Reference of these Committees may be reviewed once the Committees are fully operational.

NOTED: Operational processes including who is to provide secretariat support to each committee has yet to be decided. Schedule of meetings to be provided as soon as possible. **AGREED:** On proposition of M. White seconded by P. Harte the Committee Structure and Terms of Reference were approved by Academic Council

6. Academic Term Start Dates

AGREED: The following academic term start dates were noted by Council

D. O'Byrne /D. Denieffe

SETU AC1 07.06.22

- Semester 1 2022/23 12th September 2022
- Semester 2 2022/23 16th January 2023

NOTED: D. Denieffe advised members that the full academic calendar will issue in the coming weeks.

NOTED: Members suggested calendar should also take into consideration other student cohorts including craft apprentices and part-time and postgraduate students. Consideration should also be given to the large cohort of repeat students in autumn.

AGREED: Covid impact on 1st year results to be included as an agenda item for a future meeting of Council

7. Legacy Council Meetings

AGREED: Legacy Councils from both founding Institutes to meet towards the end of next week to consider the examination results and any other outstanding legacy items. Decisions from both meetings to be brought for ratification to Academic Council on 20th June

from both meetings to be brought for fathreation to readenine council on 20 June	
8. A.O.B.	
NOTED: There was no other business.	

Signed:	Date:	